Our Communities

The “Charlotte” NC area is a broad and diverse region. While the city of Charlotte resides in Mecklenburg County, many people who work and play in Charlotte choose to live in the surrounding cities, towns or counties. Below we have divided the region into three sections, including Mecklenburg County proper, the surrounding counties, and the Upstate South Carolina region.

Jump To Community
Looking to live truly in “Charlotte?” Mecklenburg County is where you need to start. Want to live right next door? Mecklenburg reaches all the way north to Davidson, Cornelius, and Huntersville and south to Matthews, Mint Hill and Pineville. Learn more about the towns, subdivisions and areas that make up Mecklenburg.
Don’t blink, you’ll miss the moment you cross the county line. The taxes may be different but those in the surrounding counties are enjoying everything that Charlotte and Mecklenburg has to offer plus so much more. Looking to live in Union County or Cabarrus County? Check out all the counties and what they have to offer.
Fun fact: our local theme park, Carowinds, sits atop the North Carolina and South Carolina state lines. At the front gate you can stand with one foot in each state. Several neighborhoods in South Charlotte do the same thing. Want to learn about the South Carolina communities – use this section to explore Fort Mill, Rock Hill and more.